<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: An up close look at FunAdvice.com.</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 03 Feb 2012 06:08:50 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: Karl Gechlik</title>
		<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/comment-page-1#comment-14405</link>
		<dc:creator>Karl Gechlik</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 18 May 2011 00:30:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ata.bansal-inc.com/?p=467#comment-14405</guid>
		<description>That&#039;s a lot of action for a 5 year old post!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>That&#8217;s a lot of action for a 5 year old post!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: FunAdvice Admin</title>
		<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/comment-page-1#comment-14404</link>
		<dc:creator>FunAdvice Admin</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 May 2011 20:01:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ata.bansal-inc.com/?p=467#comment-14404</guid>
		<description>After just recently stumbling upon this write-up, I feel that we have a right to justify our actions, as Mr. Holt seems to think we are running a shady business here. 

First of all - The site earns money through advertisements. Companies pay us to display their ads on our site, and while logged in, we try and maintain as little ad intrusion as possible, but logged out, you get the full package.

We do *not* sell user information ... ever. That&#039;s a pretty serious accusation, and I expect you have the evidence to back up your theory? Probably not, because we don&#039;t do it.

As for the problem with deactivating your account ... this is a security issue. It&#039;s far too easy for members to create and delete accounts one after another for the purpose of abusing or causing trouble, therefore, anyone who wants to delete their account will have to ask an Admin to do so for them. We don&#039;t ask for a reason, and we don&#039;t try and push a member to remain ... they are free to leave as they wish. 
On that note, there are several similar communities who employ this same approach.

So, FunAdvice is earning off of the members? Maybe you should have stuck around for the cash-for-points blitz where people were able to cash in their points for real US dollars. 

I think, Mr. Holt, that you need to be very careful about the kinds of lies and misinformation that you spewing on the internet ... some would consider that libel.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>After just recently stumbling upon this write-up, I feel that we have a right to justify our actions, as Mr. Holt seems to think we are running a shady business here. </p>
<p>First of all &#8211; The site earns money through advertisements. Companies pay us to display their ads on our site, and while logged in, we try and maintain as little ad intrusion as possible, but logged out, you get the full package.</p>
<p>We do *not* sell user information &#8230; ever. That&#8217;s a pretty serious accusation, and I expect you have the evidence to back up your theory? Probably not, because we don&#8217;t do it.</p>
<p>As for the problem with deactivating your account &#8230; this is a security issue. It&#8217;s far too easy for members to create and delete accounts one after another for the purpose of abusing or causing trouble, therefore, anyone who wants to delete their account will have to ask an Admin to do so for them. We don&#8217;t ask for a reason, and we don&#8217;t try and push a member to remain &#8230; they are free to leave as they wish.<br />
On that note, there are several similar communities who employ this same approach.</p>
<p>So, FunAdvice is earning off of the members? Maybe you should have stuck around for the cash-for-points blitz where people were able to cash in their points for real US dollars. </p>
<p>I think, Mr. Holt, that you need to be very careful about the kinds of lies and misinformation that you spewing on the internet &#8230; some would consider that libel.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Knut Holt</title>
		<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/comment-page-1#comment-14015</link>
		<dc:creator>Knut Holt</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 29 Jan 2011 19:47:36 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ata.bansal-inc.com/?p=467#comment-14015</guid>
		<description>I wonder where they earn their money, because they surely do not run this site without having an income from someone.

I guess on three sources. They probably sell member contact information to instances paying for it.

Instances paying for it probably answar selected questions by refering to their commercial web-site. If an average member try to do it, the website is blacked out.

They say thet do not give infromation to others, but can youreally  take on them?

I registered as a member and found no way to deregister again - a creepy parctice telling me that my contact information means money to them.

In either case - funadvice seems to be one of many sites earning from the efforts of members without paying for it.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I wonder where they earn their money, because they surely do not run this site without having an income from someone.</p>
<p>I guess on three sources. They probably sell member contact information to instances paying for it.</p>
<p>Instances paying for it probably answar selected questions by refering to their commercial web-site. If an average member try to do it, the website is blacked out.</p>
<p>They say thet do not give infromation to others, but can youreally  take on them?</p>
<p>I registered as a member and found no way to deregister again &#8211; a creepy parctice telling me that my contact information means money to them.</p>
<p>In either case &#8211; funadvice seems to be one of many sites earning from the efforts of members without paying for it.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Karl L. Gechlik</title>
		<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/comment-page-1#comment-1833</link>
		<dc:creator>Karl L. Gechlik</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 Nov 2007 23:41:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ata.bansal-inc.com/?p=467#comment-1833</guid>
		<description>maybe we could get her on AskTheAdmin to field a few questions, :) i doubt she&#039;s the technical type... real purdy on the eyes though... Gotta envy Vincent Chase!&lt;br/&gt;&lt;br/&gt;How did you come up with the idea for funadvice?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>maybe we could get her on AskTheAdmin to field a few questions, :) i doubt she&#8217;s the technical type&#8230; real purdy on the eyes though&#8230; Gotta envy Vincent Chase!</p>
<p>How did you come up with the idea for funadvice?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: funadvice</title>
		<link>http://www.asktheadmin.com/2007/11/up-close-look-at-funadvicecom.html/comment-page-1#comment-1832</link>
		<dc:creator>funadvice</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 Nov 2007 23:07:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ata.bansal-inc.com/?p=467#comment-1832</guid>
		<description>Hey, thanks for the write up.&lt;br/&gt;&lt;br/&gt;&gt;&gt;Mandy Moore&lt;br/&gt;&lt;br/&gt;Her promotion company contacted us &amp; setup the appearance on our site, and for the month, they had a large graphic pointing to the FunAdvice profile for Mandy Moore from her MySpace page.&lt;br/&gt;&lt;br/&gt;To be honest...I don&#039;t know how they found us &amp; I thought the email might have been spam, but decided to reply anyway. Sure enough, it was real ;) And made my day.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hey, thanks for the write up.</p>
<p>>>Mandy Moore</p>
<p>Her promotion company contacted us &#038; setup the appearance on our site, and for the month, they had a large graphic pointing to the FunAdvice profile for Mandy Moore from her MySpace page.</p>
<p>To be honest&#8230;I don&#8217;t know how they found us &#038; I thought the email might have been spam, but decided to reply anyway. Sure enough, it was real ;) And made my day.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

<!-- Performance optimized by W3 Total Cache. Learn more: http://www.w3-edge.com/wordpress-plugins/

Minified using disk
Page Caching using disk (enhanced)

Served from: www.asktheadmin.com @ 2012-02-09 13:17:05 -->
